The foundations of many top-tier IT organizations are embedded within their Enterprise Architecture (EA). An IT organization EA defines its principles, guidelines, policies, procedures and standards that directs the organization in the acquisition, implementation and maintenance of IT resources. A critical component of an EA is the governance structure, which is directed towards ensuring that the IT organization is aligned with current business goals and that the EA is fully supported, implemented and kept current.

The PCG vision for EA consists of the following four Primary Architectural Domains and the Governance Structure:

  • Governance Structure
  • Application Domain,
  • Data Domain,
  • Infrastructure Domain, and
  • Security Domain

For each domain defined in the Conceptual Architecture, one or more Component Architectures are typically defined to reflect the required architectural definitions, associated technologies, tools, standards, policies and procedures. Typical Component Architectures include

  • Platform,
  • Network,
  • Middleware,
  • Systems Management,
  • Collaboration (workflow),
  • Intranet/Extranet/e-Commerce,
  • Data Warehouse/Analysis and Reporting
  • Transaction data subsystems, and
  • Application

PCG is well versed in the concepts of EA and can assist your IT organization in the planning, development, enhancement or implementation of an EA.

More Information

For more information about PCG Technology Consulting's Enterprise Architecture services please contact us at or 1-800-210-6113.