ED Approves Seven More NCLB Waiver Requests

In a July 19, 2012 press release, the U.S. Department of Education (ED) announced the approval of seven more requests for waivers from provisions of the No Child Left Behind Act.  The seven new approvals were for Arizona, Kansas, Michigan, Mississippi, Oregon, South Carolina, and the District of Columbia.  “Today’s announcement brings to 32 the number of states that have joined a nationwide, bipartisan movement toward next-generation education reforms that go far beyond No Child Left Behind’s rigid, top-down prescriptions.”  Requests are still pending for California, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa and Nevada.  States that have not yet requested a waiver have until September 6 to apply.